Farewell, February!

If you are looking for a little something to drink while bidding farewell to February, then I suggest that you look no further than the “Adios, Motherfucker!”  This recipe came up in my search for Valentine’s Day cocktails as an “anti-Valentine’s Day” drink.  The suggestion was that one might have this drink if they found themselves getting rid of (saying “adios” to) a lover.  I thought it would be fun to try at the end of the month since it didn’t fit in with any of the other themes for February.  Little did I know how VERY appropriate it would be, as many of us in the Boston area are happy to leave February 2015 in the past, with expletives.

You will find the original recipe here.  It contains a hefty amount of alcohol and, as such, I have read that most bars will not serve more than two to any patron in one night.  The first one I made was by the recipe and it was okay but I felt it lacked flavor.  I made some slight modifications to the second one (see recipe that follows) by adding in more blue curacao, sweet and sour mix, and lemon-lime soda.

Start with a tall glass – I chose a hurricane glass – filled with ice.  Put in 1 oz of blue curacao, 1/2 oz tequila, 1/2 oz vodka, 1/2 oz rum, 1/2 oz gin, and 3 oz. sweet and sour mix.  Top with 3 oz. lemon-lime soda (I used diet 7up) and stir gently.  Garnish with maraschino cherries if desired.

11021052_10153555811043465_3848150566811897372_n

I will forewarn you, this is a deceptively strong drink…akin to a Long Island Iced Tea.  You’ll think, “oh, I can have another” then, on the second or third sip of that second drink, it will hit you.  It ended up being an early night for me.  Had I not restrained myself, I suspect I might have had a rough morning.  Either way, enjoy the drink and welcoming March!

Leave a Reply

