Two-fer Saturday – Emeralds and Wenchs

Today I have a two-fer. Both have melon liqueur and coconut rum which, I felt, was an odd combination.  Through my experiments, I was very surprised to find that they mix in very well with the other ingredients, especially citrus flavors.

First up was this recipe for the Emerald City.  It is brilliant, beautiful…and VERY green.  Start off with putting 2 oz. of coconut rum (Malibu, Parrot Bay, etc.), 1 oz. of melon liqueur (Midori), ½ oz. Blue Curacao, and 2 oz. sweet and sour mix into shaker with ice. Shake well and pour everything into a tall (Collins) glass. Top with 2 oz. of lemon-lime soda (7Up, Sprite, etc), add a long straw and stir. Garnish with a maraschino cherry, if desired.

11021261_10153575328283465_6850101574106807806_n

This drink is sweet and has a complex tropical flavor.  Something about it (the melon and coconut combination?) is initially peculiar. But after a moment, the soda and sweet and sour mix temper that taste a bit, making it very palatable. It’s okay – certainly not bad, but not my favorite.

I felt I should give the Midori and coconut rum combination another chance – and I had this recipe for the Angry Pirate. Only problem was that I was not able to find the Dekuyper Island Punch Pucker or Maui Blue Hawaiian. I did have a bottle of Hpnotiq in the cabinet which I felt would make for a fair substitution. And, hey, it gave me the chance to name a drink – I am leaning towards the Angry Wench.

Start by putting 1 oz. peach schnapps, 1 oz. coconut rum, 1 oz. Hpnotiq, 1 oz. melon liqueur, and 2 oz. pineapple juice into a shaker with ice. Shake well and pour into a glass. Top with 2 oz. of lemon-lime soda and garnish with a cherry and/or pineapple chunk.

10982818_10153575381353465_8538807155177794920_n

This is a murky, neon concoction and a little rough around the edges compared to the gleaming and neat Emerald City. It is also a sweet tropical drink. Despite some similar ingredients, they are very different. The coconut and melon seem to work together much better in the Angry Wench – I think it is the pineapple juice and peach schnapps. It is smooth and uncomplicated.  If you had to choose between the two, I would recommend the Wench.  In fairness, however, I think the Emerald City is worth a try…it is so pretty and it just might be your favorite.

Leave a Reply

