Shamrock Shimmy

It was due to happen…I mixed my first dud.  As I said before, I am not a huge gin fan – though I have found that, when mixed with certain other ingredients, it adds nice flavor and complexity to a cocktail.  This was not one of those times.  Perhaps my taste was altered since I was sick (sinus congestion and sore throat).  I took a sip and handed it over to my husband who, as you might recall, really does enjoy gin.

Initially I was drawn to this drink recipe because it was a little different – but it was green and had creme de menthe, which fit my theme for the month and week.  And, it really is a beautiful drink.  But, in my opinion, the merits end there.  Click here for the link to the original recipe.  I modified it by adding 3 oz of ginger ale instead of the recommended 2 oz.  My husband said it tasted like Nyquil – that’s all he could think of to say.  I don’t know what it reminded me of, but it did not appeal to me.

Well, thankfully, March is not over, and I have a few more green drinks to finish up the month.  I might even stick an Easter cocktail in next weekend, for those of you who want to experiment before the holiday.  Stay tuned – it better (will) get better from here.  Cheers!

10491104_10153604350348465_3933912904323254448_n

Leave a Reply

