Easter Cocktails

In preparation for Easter this coming weekend, I wanted to post the results from my experiments with some Easter themed cocktails.  Honestly, this all started so innocently with a friend passing along a recipe for a Peeptini to me. I quickly realized that this was just the tip of the iceberg and there were OTHER Peeptini and festive cocktail recipes.

So, it only makes sense that I start with the Peeptini.  There are actually more than three recipes for the Peeptini, so I did my best to pick a representative sample of what is out there. The first recipe calls for raspberry vodka, citrus vodka, lemonade, and simple syrup (optional).  I selected yellow lemonade since I had yellow peeps – but you can select pink lemonade.  I like my drinks on the sweeter side, so I may opt to add the simple syrup, but it is not necessary.  This is a great drink to have with dinner – it is refreshing and flavorful, but will not compete with your dinner.

11011988_10153630357588465_3208877181297314721_n(1)

The other Peeptini recipes are dairy based, but quite different from each other.  The first one is a tasty mixture of vodka, creme de cacao, coffee liqueur (Kahlua), hazelnut liqueur (Frangelico), and cream (I used fat-free half-and-half, but you could also try milk or regular half-and-half).  Click here for the recipe. There is the added hassle of blending the ingredients with 3 peeps before shaking with ice and straining into a martini glass.  I’m not sure if this imparts any Peep flavor or color to the drink, but I am certain that it made more dirty dishes to wash.  I am also certain that it was pretty good.  I would classify this as a dessert drink.

18682_10153630164983465_4035125380536770715_n

The last Peeptini recipe really highlights the marshmallow flavor of the Peep. But, unlike the other two, it has no festive color – if it matters, you can add a drop of food coloring.  I decided to merge two similar recipes by using 1 oz fluffed marshmallow vodka, 1/2 oz creme de cacao, 1/2 oz vanilla syrup, and 1 oz fat-free half-and-half.  Put all the ingredients into a cocktail shaker with ice, shake, and strain into a glass.  I opted to rim the glass with marshmallow fluff, but you could use vanilla syrup and sugar as well.  This is pretty marshmallow-y – but the creme de cacao tempers that pretty well.  It was good – I could see enjoying one of these for a wintry, “marshmallow world” type occasion as well.

1560604_10153635312173465_8847958674803109030_n

While searching for recipes, I came across two others that intrigued me.  The first was the Easter Basket, which contains an interesting combination of cherry vodka, triple sec and half-and-half.  The cherry is very strong.  I made it a second time, putting in cherry vodka, vanilla vodka and cointreau without any significant change or improvement to the taste.  I really wanted to like this one but I think that it will still need some more tweaking.  I will keep working on this and, perhaps next Easter, can report back with some success.

10516869_10153635282438465_5558619778390152487_n

The very last, but not least, drink was the Caramel Creme Egg Martini.  It’s another dessert drink and it is really good.  I did not modify the recipe at all, you can find it by clicking here – it is the third recipe listed.  You need Bailey’s Irish Cream, Creme de cacao, cream (fat-free half-and-half again, since that’s what I had), caramel syrup and chocolate syrup.  Luckily, I had all the syrups on hand, thanks to the children.  I will happily substitute this for the traditional Cadbury egg that I eat this time of year.

20416_10153635254183465_505855254358364929_n

So, to review, my plan for Easter will be to enjoy the non-dairy Peeptini with my dinner and have a Caramel Creme Egg Martini for my evening drink (I will probably need it!).  Have a wonderful Easter – I hope that the Easter Bunny puts the ingredients to make some of these drinks in your Easter basket!

Leave a Reply

