Kid-friendly Easter Treats

My husband and I recently had the Easter basket discussion (which is much like the Christmas discussion in that it involves a rundown of gifts and the financial bottom line).  My family made a big deal out of Easter, my husband’s parents not so much – and this is where our dilemma begins.  But, I actually agree that things can get out of hand pretty easily, especially with three kids.  So, I am focusing on buying less but giving more.

My first project involved making a favorite festive snack.  My mom has made this Christmas Mix annually for well over 20 years.  I don’t make it all that often because it is really dangerous to have around – by dangerous, I mean that it is dangerously good and dangerously easy to overindulge.  You can easily modify it to fit your tastes or the season.  For this Easter Mix, I used 3 cups of Crispix cereal (I like the combo of corn and rice), 3 cups of multi-grain Cheerios, 2 cups of pretzels, 2 cups of cashews, 2 cups of peanuts, m&ms (I used and entire 11.4 oz bag of the pastel colored ones), and approx 18-20 ounces of white chocolate (vanilla) wafers (you can find these in the candy making area of the craft store or, sometimes, in the baking aisle at the grocery store).

Put the white chocolate into a microwave-safe bowl.  Mix the rest of the mix ingredients together in a large bowl.  Cover a large baking sheet (or two) or countertop with waxed paper.  Melt the chocolate wafers, taking care not to overheat them.  Pour the melted chocolate over the cereal mixture and stir until each bit has an even coating.  Pour the chocolate coated mixture onto waxed paper and spread out – work a little quickly to get this done before the chocolate starts to set.  Once the chocolate is set, break into small-ish pieces and store in an airtight container or put into individual bags and tie with colored ribbon.  No need to note shelf life – it won’t last long.

11082557_10153637629768465_7514115993293122341_n

Of course, the best gift to give is the one that can not be bought.  I decided to give the kids these coupons – each one gets a set of 8 coupons for things that, I think, are useful and cherished in our home.  I found a link to these cards (there are two sets – a set that is filled out and one that is blank) online – the bonus was that the printable was free.  Click here for the link to the main page.  I printed these on white paper then cut them out and pasted them onto colored card stock.

11080941_10153639187238465_7956017750378046492_n

Lastly, I punched a hole in each one and then used a piece of ribbon to tie each individual set together.  The coupons are good for: go out for a treat with mom, go out for a treat with dad, stay up late 20 minutes, movie time: you choose the movie or tv show, game time: you pick the game we play, you choose where we go out to eat or order take out, buy one book, and one item from the dollar store or five below.  When I did a google search, I found a ton of great coupon ideas (if these ideas don’t quite fit your family’s needs) – I suggest even looking at the printables for sale for inspiration.  Happy Easter!

13080_10153639203723465_1577424527822606287_n

Leave a Reply

