Spring Celebrations Pt. 4 – 6 – The Blissful Pear Martini, French Gimlet & Elderflower Cosmo

Thirty minutes to write about 3 drinks…can I do it?  I am way behind and scrambling around to prepare for the big boy’s Communion celebration this weekend, so this will have to be quick.

PART 4 – I had one more drink to try with the pear vodka – The Blissful Pear Martini.  It’s another martini that’s not really a martini, but this is a good one.  Quite a few ingredients, but worth the time and effort to mix.  If you wish, rim your martini glass with sugar.  In a glass-filled shaker, add 4 oz of pear juice (I could only find pear nectar), 2 oz pear vodka (Grey Goose was better than Absolut again), a splash of lemon juice (about 0.5 oz) and shake well.  Strain into your martini glass and top with a splash of pear flavored sparkling water or non-flavored sparkling water.

11156224_10153692339168465_3679638034179608517_n

You can find the original recipe by clicking here – Marla provides a delightful review of the drink, if you need anymore convincing to try this.  She suggests that the unflavored sparkling water would make for a less sweet drink – that might be true, but I did not note a significant difference.  I could not find pear juice, so I had to use pear nectar – this might have made the drink sweeter.  I really liked this drink – enough to make me want to purchase a larger bottle of pear vodka.

PART 5 – Next up was the French Gimlet.  Note I have not tried an actual Gimlet (yet), but as soon as I saw that I needed St. Germain, I knew I had to try this.  Apparently, there are a few variations on the French Gimlet, this (click here for recipe I used) may be one of the more complicated ones – most I have seen just have gin, St. Germain, and lime juice.  In an ice-filled shaker, add 2 oz gin, 1 oz Lillet Blanc, 0.5 oz St. Germain (elderflower liqueur – I increased this from 0.25 oz since you can’t go wrong with adding more St. Germain), 0.5 oz fresh lime juice, 1 teaspoon agave syrup or honey, and a dash of orange bitters.  Shake well and strain into a glass with ice. Garnish with a slice of orange, lime, or sprig of mint.

11167665_10153702146573465_8823281576446968440_n

First, make sure your syrup or honey is fully mixed into the liquid as, naturally, the ice will harden it and require extra shaking until it dissolves into the liquid.  Unlike the more traditional French Gimlet, this recipe adds in the Lillet and orange bitters…but there is really something unique about how all these flavors work together (including the St. Germain).

PART 6 – So, I was supposed to make the Sparkling French Gimlet but something about a bottle of cranberry juice in my fridge (and needing to clear it out for this weekend’s event), got me interested in making the Elderflower Cosmopolitan.  This recipe comes from the Belvedere Vodka website – the liquor companies sure do provide some great inspiration.  Anyways…start with an ice-filled shaker, again, and add 2 oz citrus vodka, 1 oz cranberry juice, 0.5 oz lemon juice and 0.5 oz St. Germain. Shake well and strain into a chilled martini glass.

11160562_10153708208118465_1434516153351902500_n

Wow – this was REALLY easy to drink.  Not super sweet, but definitely light. This is definitely a finalist for the weekend.  I have the Sparkling French Gimlet.  I have a feeling it will be a tough choice to decide what to serve.

Any, by the way, in case you wondered, I was not able to complete this in 30 minutes…but I hope you enjoyed this (and a drink)!

Leave a Reply

