Sneaky Tequila

I survived my early May events.  Hooray!  Now I am ready to move on, and experiment with something different.

The theme for the rest of the month is peach and pineapple.  I feel that these are great flavors as we go from spring to summer – something light and subtly tropical.

The first drink of the month is the Sneaky Tequila.  I have no idea why it is called “sneaky” – I suspect it is because it is sneakily very alcoholic or that the taste of tequila is sneaky (in that you don’t taste it much).

The original recipe came from here.  A “part” in mixology terms can be whatever you want it to be.  Nine ounces of liquor seemed to be a large quantity for me to consume (I was mixing this up on a Sunday night, after all) so I improvised.  I put 40 mL tequila, 40 mL coconut rum, 10 mL peach schnapps, 30 mL of cranberry juice, and 30 mL of pineapple juice into a cocktail shaker with ice.  (I will note that I got to try out my new Mother’s Day gift, which was a nice Boston shaker – that was fun!)  Shake well and pour into a highball or Collins glass – you may want to add more ice.  Garnish with a cherry, because it’s Mother’s Day.  A hearty slice of pineapple would be nice too, but I didn’t have it on hand.  Oh well, next time.

11038388_10153737850688465_5382162259784840358_n

This is good, light, sweet and refreshing.  I ended up adding quite a bit more than the recommended “splash” of juices, so I could have two without getting sleepy.  I suppose it will be worth recreating with the recommended proportions of alcohol….another day.  For today, it was the perfect ending to an amazing Mother’s Day.

Edited to Add: I recreated this tonight with 4 oz tequila, 4 oz coconut rum, 1 oz peach schnapps, and a “splash” of cranberry juice and pineapple juice.  Whoa!  I took a couple of sips and was feeling a little dizzy.  It’s good, but I like my first mixture, which involves less alcohol, with all the taste.

One thought on “Sneaky Tequila

Leave a Reply

