Hawaii Five-O

Here’s another drink inspired by a television show. I have never seen it – and doubt that I ever will. Honestly, the name made me think more about a tropical paradise than TV. I took one glance at the ingredient list and I was quickly convinced to make this one. You will note that we have switched over to Pineapple drinks – the original recipe is here.

Start with putting 2 oz light rum, 2 oz blue curacao, 3 oz pineapple juice, and 1 oz sweet & sour mix into an ice-filled shaker. Shake well and pour into a Collins glass. Garnish with a cherry or slice of pineapple.

11143378_10153766179278465_3679137152932656481_n

I don’t think there is any coincidence that the recipe adds “drink responsibly” at the end of the directions. This fruity beverage is so easy to drink – but it is also potent. The brilliantly deep turquoise hue just draws you in (no filters on that photo, by the way). I was thirsty…I made two…I fell right asleep with the kids.  But, in all seriousness, it is a happy drink – one that will make you want to lay back, kick your feet up, and not care that the kids are fighting.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

