Pimm’s Blackberry & Elderflower Sundowner

They say that “youth is wasted on the young.”  As an adult there are so many times that I feel how very true this is – one example being kids and naps.  I have also found this true while on this adventure with cocktails.  Only recently I discovered elderflower liqueur – and, oh, what a joyous occasion!  Of course, in that same moment, I was a little frustrated over what I had been missing.  Well, for the month of June, I will be celebrating this lovely elixir.

On one of my trips to my favorite liquor emporium, I came across a bottle of this: Pimm’s Blackberry & Elderflower.

11390257_1010556515623993_5036988526035403139_n

I have heard and read that Pimm’s is one of those quintessential British things.  For people who have known me long enough, they will understand why I would treasure this.  (Suffice it to say, it has something to do eight trips to London.) I think I have had Pimm’s once and it wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t very memorable either. I did a little research on Pimm’s and found that it has quite an interesting history.  This particular Pimm’s variety is available only seasonally – and there is a Winter Cup that I will hope to get come wintertime.

My decision to experiment with Pimm’s first this month was based on nothing other than the fact that I found some lovely looking blackberries at the grocery store – and I knew that I needed them for garnish.  I have a few drinks to make with my Pimm’s Blackberry & Elderflower, but today’s cocktail is the Pimm’s Blackberry & Elderflower Sundowner.

Ingredients: 50 mL Pimm’s Blackberry & Elderflower, 10 mL lemon juice, 25 mL orange juice, 25 mL apple juice, 10 mL simple syrup, 1 slice lemon for garnish (or just toss in a few blackberries).

Put all the ingredients into an ice-filled shaker.  Shake and strain into a Collins or Highball glass filled with ice and garnish.  Sip and say “Ahhhh!”

11351413_10153812981173465_6703946677109132324_n

This is a refreshing drink – it is not heavy on alcohol or sweetness.  This recipe also does not make a big drink (I needed to fill my glass completely with ice cubes in order to look full so you might want to make a double or serve in a double old-fashioned glass).  But, it really is pleasant evening sipping drink – but it would also be nice to serve with brunch or lunch.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

