The Parisian Martini, Tin Lizzie, & Elderflower Tequila Slipper

In the ongoing chaos of life and end-of-the-year events (field trips, parties, ceremonies, etc), I nearly forgot about the Parisian Martini. You will find the original recipe here.  I actually found the link to this recipe on a blog post about celebrating Bastille Day.  How lovely would that be – a hunk of cheese, meat and a baguette with one of these?  Of course, to be sipped along the Seine.  Well, my kitchen (aka my laboratory) would have to suffice…but I couldn’t wait a month to try this out.

Ingredients: 2 shots vodka, 1 shot St. Germain, ¼ shot Lillet-Blanc.

Add all the ingredients to an ice-filled shaker. Shake and strain into a martini glass.

ParisianMartini

I think that most martini purists will enjoy this. The addition of St. Germain and Lillet is charming but not overpowering. Personally, I was tempted to add a little more St. Germain and Lillet, to take off some of the bite of the vodka, but I left it as is. It was a very nice evening cocktail.

With much (personal) anticipation, I made The Tin Lizzie. This is actually this signature drink at The Tin Lizzie Lounge, which is located in Seattle. I haven’t been to Seattle (yet!), but any lounge that offers a signature drink like this warrants a visit!  After trying, and being slightly disappointed with, the Pimms Elderflower & Blackberry, I went on a search for a drink with those flavors.  I can’t express my delight when I came upon this recipe (click here)!

Ingredients: ¾ oz vodka, ½ oz Chambord, ½ oz St. Germain, Prosecco.

Put the vodka, Chambord, and St. Germain into a shaker, add ice, shake and strain into a champagne glass.  Top with prosecco.

TheTinLizzie

I really wanted more of the Chambord and St. Germain flavors so I opted more than original ¼ amount.  It was a lovely drink – and I bet the folks at The Tin Lizzie make it better than I do.  However, I still didn’t get as much of the blackberry and elderflower flavors as I had hoped to (the prosecco took most of the attention in this drink) – maybe I am seeking something that cannot be found?  But, I’m not giving up just yet, as I have some ideas floating around in my head involving fresh blackberries and maybe a tweak or two of this recipe.  Or, if all else fails, a trip to Seattle might be in order.

Last, but certainly not least, I made the Elderflower Tequila Slipper. Personally, I find the flavor of tequila so-so…it’s not that I dislike tequila, I just don’t LOVE or crave it. So, I went into this experiment with mixed feelings. I found the original recipe on the Martha Stewart web site here.

Ingredients: 2 oz tequila, 1 ½ oz St. Germain, 4 dashes grapefruit bitters.

Put all ingredients into an ice-filled shaker. Shake and strain into a coupe. Garnish with a wedge of grapefruit if desired.

ElderflowerTequilaSlipper

I was pleasantly surprised with this drink. Yes, it is all alcohol (minus the bitters)…and it is strong. The flavor of the tequila is quite prominent and the elderflower is such a nice compliment. I ran out of silver tequila, so I had to use my less favorite gold tequila. I would definitely like to make one of these with the better tequila – and I assume the results would be even nicer.  It is a nice alternate to a margarita and would be great to serve with a meal from your favorite local taqueria, just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

