Elderberry Soda (Blackberry Jet-Setter)

So, I had a moment, a very brief moment, when I thought I had created something unique.  It felt good – I felt empowered and confident.  I made a drink without being inspired by an existing drink and, in that moment, I thought that maybe I just might know what I’m doing.  Apparently, everyone else seems to think I have this mixology thing pretty well figured out while, I swear, I am just winging it.  Of course, any diligent scientist or writer will research similar work before publishing their own at the risk of being charged with plagiarism.  This is when I came to the discovery that my creatively concocted cocktail already exists.  Honestly, it is VERY hard to mix something that hasn’t been made in some way.  Even if the proportions are different, the mixture of the flavors, the essence of the drink, still exists.  In this case, the realization was that my Elderberry Soda is actually a Blackberry Jet-Setter.  The link to the recipe is here, but I will note that I did not in any way use this for inspiration and my delicious recipe is somewhat different.

Ingredients: 3 blackberries, 1.5 oz Chambord, 1.5 oz St. Germain, 1 oz. vodka, club soda

Muddle 2 of the blackberries in the bottom of a shaker.  Add Chambord, St. Germain, vodka, and ice.  Shake and strain into a double old-fashioned glass.  Add ice, top with a splash of club soda and garnish with a fresh blackberry.

11665736_1025890837423894_43480758120496294_n

I didn’t do a comparison between my drink that the one made from the recipe.  But I can say that the drink I made was very good – and, most importantly, THIS was the mixture of blackberry and elderflower that I was yearning for.  I highly recommend trying it while fresh blackberries are in season!  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

