Southwestern Black Bean Salad

Here is another great summer recipe from Skinnytaste – minimal prep, especially if you have some sort of vegetable chopper (this is mine), and it requires NO cooking (which is a bonus on hot, humid days when the last place you want to be is in the kitchen working over a hot stove). It is also very flavorful and healthy. For the original recipe, click here.

Ingredients: 15.5 oz can black beans (rinsed and drained), 9 oz cooked corn (fresh, frozen or canned), 1 chopped medium tomato, 1/3 cup chopped red onion (approx half a large red onion), 1 scallion chopped, juice of 1 ½ – 2 limes, 1 Tbsp olive oil, 2 Tbsp cilantro (or more to taste), salt (I prefer garlic salt) and pepper, 1 diced jalapeno (optional)

Add later: 1 medium hass avocado diced

I recommend using a medium-large bowl with a tight-fitting lid so that you can mix and then transfer directly to the fridge, without dirtying more dishes. Mix the beans, corn, tomato, onion, scallion, cilantro, jalapeno (if desired), salt and pepper. Add in the lime juice and olive oil, stir well. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Serve with diced avocado.

11705272_1034974036515574_5068067087467291398_n

I decided to make a small cheese quesadilla to have aside this and I wish I would have just skipped it because this salad was flavorful (and filling) enough as a stand-alone meal. I ate it as a salsa with some tortilla chips. But, you could serve it as a topping on a quesadilla, taco, or burger.  The natural seasonings of the fresh ingredients mix so wonderfully – it is so refreshing and light…perfect for a hot summer evening when you want something tasty, yet not too heavy.  I prefer my food on the milder side, so I skipped the jalapeno.  I happened to notice that my husband, who likes to add tabasco to much of his food, did not add tabasco or the jalapeno to this.  Either way, I think you will like it.  I know that I am already planning to make it again to have on hand for lunch this week!  And, silly me, in all the excitement of trying this dish, I forgot to add avocado but I will definitely want to make sure it gets added in next time.

10414592_1034973989848912_8118128454179984717_n

Leave a Reply

