Georgia Peach

Summertime is so plentiful with fresh produce that I feel compelled to take this opportunity to make as many things that require fresh fruits or vegetables.  Although that motivated me to make this drink, I used frozen peaches instead of fresh this time.  Still, can’t you just taste the peach when you see the name of this one?  Now, of course, there are a few variations of this drink.  The photo I saw of this particular version was a delightful and refreshing-looking slush-type concoction – perfect for cooling down at the end of a hot summer day.  You can find the original recipe here at Food.com.

Ingredients: 2 oz vodka, 1 oz peach liqueur (I had schnapps on hand), 1/2 cup fresh or frozen peaches (it was a hot day, I used frozen to help keep the drink slushy), 1/2 cup crushed ice, 1/4 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

Put the vodka, peach liqueur, peaches and ice into a blender and blend until smooth.  Add the raspberries and, “blend briefly, until berries are broken but not completely blended in.”  Apparently, you are going for a swirl-type effect.  Pour into two balloon or coupe glasses and garnish with a peach, raspberries, or mint sprig if desired.

11063898_1035929676420010_151356904001334322_n

First off, I opted to add more than 1/2 cup of frozen peaches – figured it would make it more “healthy”.  Ha!  I could have skipped the raspberries.  They didn’t add any flavor to the drink, which was fine because I was yearning for a peachy flavored drink.  I was indifferent about the fact that they changed the color a bit.  However, I did not care much for the fact that the seeds altered the texture of the drink – sorry, I don’t enjoy raspberry seeds getting stuck on my teeth while sipping a drink.  Though I might have over-mixed the berries…still…I won’t add them next time.  It does help to have a good blender when making frozen drinks, though I feel like I am still trying to master my mighty Vitamix.  But, the results were very pleasing – I enjoyed this cool, peachy drink quite a bit.  Think of it as an adult fruit slush.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

