Blue Polka Dot Bikini Martini

It was the 17th of July and I came to the realization that the month was more than half over, summer was slipping away.  Days for summer activities, including trips to the beach, and sampling all these summer-inspired beverages, are numbered….

There is nothing terribly unique about this drink, other than the look of it (click here for the original recipe and photo) – it’s one of those fancy layered drinks that I’ve been wanting to experiment with.  This one separates into a distinct blue and golden yellow.  I’m not quite sure what makes that reminiscent of a blue polka dot bikini…but we’ll go with it.  I had the ingredients on hand, so I figured it was worth mixing up.

Ingredients: 2 oz coconut rum, 3-4 oz orange pineapple juice (I had to mix orange and pineapple juices), 1 oz blue curacao, ice, maraschino cherries for garnish if desired

Start by pouring the blue curacao in the bottom of the martini glass.  The original recipe calls for 1/2 oz – I used more in order to get it filled to a similar level in my glass (apparently it’s wider than the sample glass).  Next, add ice, coconut rum, and juices to the shaker.  Shake and strain INTO A SEPARATE GLASS.  Slowly spoon the rum-juice mixture into the martini glass over the blue curacao.

11737843_1036427726370205_8743407053614919910_n

Take my advice with using the spoon.  This wasn’t extremely clear in the original directions (it said, “using a spoon, gently pour chilled mixture over top of the Blue Curacao”) – so I did more pouring, albeit slowly, than spooning.  The result was a drink that ended up looking more like some of my festive green drinks from March.  Using the spoon is a slow process – especially if you are thirsty or are serving drinks for guests.  And even with the extra care and effort I took on the second try, I ended up with more of a turquoise middle layer than a distinct two-layered drink.

As far as the drink, it’s tasty…sweet…not remarkably unique.  It was a little different to get the flavor burst of blue curacao at the end.  But, the drink just looks neat…and, in terms of a drink-preparing technique, it’s one I’d like to continue trying to master.

Leave a Reply

