White Wine and Peach Sangria

This recipe came inside of a Weight Watchers Weekly, which is handed out at Weight Watchers meetings. It looked good, easy to make, and, from some reviews given at one of the meetings, I knew I had to try it.

Ingredients: 750 ml Riesling (or dry white wine – I had Pinot Grigio in my wine rack), 1 ½ cups diet peach iced tea, ¼ cup peach schnapps, 3 ripe peaches (pitted and thinly sliced – you may substitute frozen peaches), 1 large granny smith apply (thinly sliced), 1 lemon (thinly sliced), 1 ½ cups diet lemon-lime soda

Put the wine, peach tea, peach schnapps, and fresh fruit into a pitcher or container and place in the fridge for at least 3 hours (overnight, if possible). Add the lemon-lime soda to the pitcher when ready to serve.

20221_1036987136314264_7309769951221231282_nThere isn’t really a lot for me to write about this – it was REALLY good and simple to make. I was a little curious about how the tea would mix in with the other flavors, but you don’t taste tea at all. Since I was not at all planning to consume this entire pitcher in one evening, I opted to add the soda to each glass as I served it rather than to the pitcher. This way, I was able to control the proportions in each glass. So, my first glass was sangria with a bit of soda, as intended. My second glass, however, was more of a sangria spritzer. Oh, and while sipping, eat some of those peach and apple slices that were marinating in the mixture– they are fabulous! This would be fantastic to enjoy with a variety of meals – I had it along with my Slow Cooked Jerk Pork and Caribbean Salsa. Cheers!

11760110_1037722669574044_8225993696714924878_n(1)

2 thoughts on “White Wine and Peach Sangria

  1. You could also scoop the fruit out at the end and serve it over ice cream. Or nonfat yogurt, to take the Weight Watchers theme to the end. Or vanilla pudding. Or save it for Sunday breakfast to serve as Sangria French toast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

