Going Bananas – Aruba Paradise, Hawaiian Dream, After Sex, and Unnamed

There is less than a month left of summer vacation. I have a few different emotions about this – relief (I’ve “survived” this far), sadness (is it really almost over?), and panic (still a month left of keeping the kids from going crazy AND how will I be able to do everything I hoped to do?). Of course, we are all at that point where things are getting a little crazy. Most of the time, it is a good crazy…and sometimes it is that headache-provoking crazy. So, to pay tribute to the fact that we are “going bananas”, I decided to experiment with banana liqueur.

11828772_1048772985135679_2248046791617448026_n

The first drink I tried was the Aruba Paradise- you can find the original recipe here.

Start with putting 1 oz Malibu Coconut Rum, ½ oz Banana Liqueur, 1 oz orange juice, and 1 oz pineapple juice into a shaker with ice. Shake until well mixed and pour into a double old fashioned glass. Top with a splash of Blue Curacao.

ArubaParadise

First, yet again, I could not get my drink to look like the one online. The Blue Curacao I “splashed” in went straight to the bottom. WTH?!? Oh well, I figure it doesn’t impact flavor all that much. This is good, fruity, but I didn’t get too much of the banana flavor in this one. The Blue Curacao doesn’t really add much other than color – you could possibly leave that out. Certainly don’t fret if you don’t have it in your cabinet. Not a bad drink, but on to the second drink…

Next up, I tried the Hawaiian Dream. The original recipe is here.

Add 1 oz Crème de Banana, 1 oz Malibu Rum, and 1 oz pineapple juice to a shaker with ice. Shake and strain into a martini glass. (?!??)

HawaiianDream

A martini glass??….really… Nope, I went with a double old-fashioned on this one too. You only get a 3 oz drink with this, so you’ll probably want to add some ice (and I don’t mean to sound snobby, but something just doesn’t seem right about putting ice into a martini glass). You could also garnish this one with an orange wedge or maraschino cherry – but you won’t need either for sweetness. This is another sweet and fruity drink. I didn’t get much of the banana flavor with this either – leading me to think that the Malibu Rum is just too overpowering when combined with the banana liqueur. Again, not a bad drink…but…next…

Lastly, I tried After Sex. Go ahead, make your jokes. I did not make this after (or before) sex…maybe I would have liked it more if I had? In any rate…the recipe that I used can be found here.

Put 1 ½ oz vodka, ½ oz banana liqueur, and 3 ½ oz orange juice into an ice-filled shaker. Shake and strain into a glass. Top with ½ oz grenadine.

AfterSex

You get a little more of the banana flavor with this one. But, the vodka and OJ really steal the show…might as well be drinking a Screwdriver. It isn’t bad, just not the banana-y concoction I was thinking it (or any of these) would be. Oh well…

Since I was yearning for something with more of the banana flavor, I decided to make my own creation. I didn’t get a photo of it, but it looked similar to the last drink I made. I have not yet had enough creative energy to name this one, but it doesn’t look like there is anything with the same mixture of ingredients. (Of course, I believe that every possible drink combination has been created, so, from the very brief search that I did, I just have not found this one yet.)

Put 1 oz Malibu rum, 2 oz Banana liqueur, 1 ½ oz pineapple juice, and 1 ½ oz orange juice into an ice-filled shaker. Shake and pour into a Collins glass. Add extra ice as needed to fill the glass. Top with a splash (or two) of grenadine.

This gave me more of the banana flavor that I wanted. While I love the combination of coconut and banana (or the thought of it), the Malibu rum really masks the banana flavor every time. I would like to try this again with a nice light (or maybe even dark…hmmm….) rum to see if that allows for more of the banana flavor to come through. Still it is good – and, no surprise, sweet and fruity. I don’t think you could go wrong with any of the four drinks. And, if you want more of the banana flavor, you can always conduct your own experiment by increasing the amount of banana liqueur.

Stay tuned for things getting peachy….again. I just realized that it is peach season. Up here in Southern New England, I feel like it only lasts for a very brief period of time, so might as well take advantage of it while I can!

Leave a Reply

