Peach Waffle Syrup…

…It’s NOT Just For Waffles…Maybe!

While in a quandary over what to make with my leftover peaches, I had a craving for Belgian waffles. And, what would go better with Belgian waffles than peach syrup? Well, considering that I had peaches that would waste away if I didn’t use them soon, I went on a hunt for a simple peach syrup recipe. I came across many recipes, but they were all relatively similar so I settled on this one.

Ingredients: 20 oz frozen peach slices (or fresh, skins and pits removed) chopped, 2 cups water, ½ – 2/3 cup confectioner’s sugar, 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon, 1 Tbsp cornstarch, 2 Tbsp water

Directions:

1-In a large saucepan, combine the peaches, confectioner’s sugar, water, and cinnamon. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, for 20 minutes.

2-In a separate, small bowl, combine the cornstarch and water. Mix until smooth.

3-Add the cornstarch mixture to the peaches in the saucepan and bring to a boil. Cook for 2 minutes or until thickened.

11863419_1052323578113953_5866976507397230378_n

4-*If you like chunky syrup, OMIT THIS STEP* Strain the syrup through a mesh sieve. Gently press the solids to extract any excess syrup.

5-Discard solids and put syrup into a jar or bottle with tight-fitting lid. Keep syrup refrigerated.

11885368_1052333084779669_2805249788325646029_n

The most time intensive part with this recipe was the prep. I decided to embark on this culinary adventure after the kids’ (and my) bedtime. But, once I had prepared the peaches, the cooking went along pretty quickly.

A different recipe, the one that called for removing the peach chunks, suggested NOT to push on the solids too hard when straining the liquid – pushing too hard would result in a cloudy syrup. I will tell you that I did NOT heed this warning…and, thus, my syrup was cloudy. I don’t know that it will impact taste, but be advised if you are expecting cloud-free results.

I used small glass bottles with a rubber gasket (these can be found at The Container Store and Target) – I went with my better judgement and used a funnel to get the syrup inside. Once they had cooled to room temperature (overnight), I closed the bottles and put them in the fridge.

Unfortunately it wasn’t until DAYS after (and only recently) that I was finally able to sample the fruits of my labor. I prepared a basic Belgian waffle and added a very small amount of butter and some of the precious syrup.

11951303_1056918057654505_3673555790804308989_n
Being the mom, I get the one that no one else would want. Of course I don’t mind – and the waffle seemed more like abstract art than food – delicious art, that is.

I will note that this is not a thick syrup. I also noticed that the cinnamon is very prominent – to the point that I was nearly confused into thinking that it was an apple syrup. After a moment on the palate, however, it is apparent that this is peach. It really is lovely….and it is fresh and homemade – so what is there NOT to like? Funny, when I mentioned that I had made peach syrup to a few friends, I was immediately asked what cocktail I was using it in. So, really, I didn’t make it with that purpose in mind, but I suppose there is nothing holding me back from doing that….I’ll definitely let you know when I experiment with it in that way. Until then, enjoy the last bit of your fresh peaches!

One thought on “Peach Waffle Syrup…

Leave a Reply

