No-Bake Energy Bites

I am always looking for a healthy, protein dense snack for my kids. They seem to be hungry, constantly. When I pick them up from school, they are hangry – and they want to eat crap (like cookies and gummy fruit snacks)…not the healthy-ish granola bar that I have packed for them. Also, as much as I can, I like to offer some variety and not just granola bars every day.

I’ve seen the awesome looking granola recipes on Pinterest but just haven’t yet had the time to make them. Though, reviews that I’ve read about them make me wonder if they would be worth the time and effort. I’ve also seen a few recipes for energy bites – I like their portability factor, which also makes them the perfect nibble size. They are packed with a variety of morsels…some quite healthy and others, well, less healthy, but those definitely makes these bites more appealing to the kiddos.

I started with this recipe because the ingredients are simple.

Ingredients: ½ cup creamy peanut butter (or any nut butter), 1 cup dry oatmeal (I used quick oats), 2/3 cup dried super fruit (I used a pre-chopped mixture of plums, cranberries, blueberries, and cherries), 1/3 cup honey, ½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used mini m&ms), 1/3 cup ground almonds or other nut (I used almonds and cashews – it is what I had and I followed their tip for using the blender to grind my nuts).

11898715_1054956737850637_8173663398183254870_n1-Put all the ingredients into a large bowl.

2-Mix until all ingredients are well combined.

11889654_1055016241178020_2055773476426746074_n

3-Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour.

4-Measure out a tablespoon of the mixture and roll into a tight ball, placing balls onto a waxed paper lined cookie sheet.

11947646_1059017850777859_4520763613586695382_n

5-Place the cookie sheet into the freezer and keep there for at least 3 hours.

6-Transfer to a plastic bag and store in the fridge for one week or in the freezer for up to 3 months

Okay, so first of all, these won’t likely last 1 week, let alone 3 months…just sayin’. Due to our school’s nut-free policy, I probably wouldn’t send these in with the kids to school, but they will definitely be an after-school option. It does seem simple enough to make a nut-free-friendly version of this (possibly with sun–nut butter) and others…I plan to make a version with Nutella, so stay tuned. Happy snacking!

Leave a Reply

