Apple Cider Martini

I feel like I missed the month of September. The problem is that I had a bunch of apple cocktails to try…and I have a bunch of Halloween drinks for this month. It’s going to be a busy weekend, I guess. And, in an effort to get this show on the road, this is going to be a quick one.

I’ve had an Appletini – they are okay, not bad. But, it’s been done. Well, this, friends, is not your regular Appletini. Nope…this is the Apple Cider Martini.  (You will find the original recipe here.)

Ingredients: 3 oz apple vodka, 1 oz cinnamon liqueur, 4 oz apple cider, splash of Grand Marnier

Put all of the ingredients into a cocktail shaker and add ice. Shake and strain into a martini glass. Garnish with an apple slice.

12063709_1075346292478348_6025718690250111035_n

I had Fireball whiskey on hand and chose to use that instead of buying a bottle of cinnamon schnapps. As it turns out the alcohol content is similar…but it is cinnamon-y. Whoa! I did like the fact that this was not the typical Appletini. The cider and Grand Marnier make this more festive than sweet and the cinnamon adds a nice kick. But, wow, the alcohol…and wow, the cinnamon. I like the cinnamon, but, honestly, it was a little overpowering for me. This is probably fine if you really like cinnamon. But, if you’re like me, you might want to adjust the amount of cinnamon liqueur (I will try ½ ounce next time). As it turned out, once I took a few drinks, I topped off the glass with more cider to temper the cinnamon – perfect!  Oh, and make sure you have a large enough glass because this makes a big drink.

I think this is versatile enough to enjoy throughout autumn – certainly during apple picking season, but it would be also be nice for Thanksgiving holiday festivities.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

