Caramel Apple Martini

There’s something about milk-based cocktails…smooth and sweet.  It would be what I consider a liquid “comfort food”.  The Caramel Apple Martini does not fall short in either of these categories. The photograph of this cocktail from the original recipe (found here) provided more than ample temptation. It is not difficult to make and does not require any exotic ingredients.

Ingredients: 1 oz Baileys Irish Cream, ½ oz apple schnapps, ½ oz butterscotch schnapps, 2 oz half-and-half or whole milk (I like to use fat free half-and-half), coarse sugar and ground cinnamon.

You can opt to rim your glass with a coarse sugar and cinnamon mixture. Next, pour the remaining ingredients into a shaker, fill with ice and shake. Strain into a glass (with or without ice).

Caramel Apple Martini

I actually find this a pretty versatile drink. Sure, the sweetness won’t be for everyone. But, this mixture of flavors has something to offer for a variety of palates. It might be best suited as a dessert beverage…but don’t let that stop you from serving it any time. I also like that this would completely appropriate to serve in a martini glass without ice or in an old-fashioned with ice. I did not take the extra time to rim my glass (I ran out of cinnamon last week). But, as with the Apple Cider Martini, I think it would complement this cocktail nicely. For this experiment, I drizzled a little caramel syrup over the top.  Now, go out and buy the supplies you need to make this drink!*

*As far as the supplies for this cocktail, I decided to buy nip bottles for this experiment. I don’t have a lot of use for apple or butterscotch schnapps and couldn’t see investing in a 375mL bottle of either (but after having this drink, I may have to go back on that). Baileys is pretty useful to have around, especially with the winter holiday season approaching.

Leave a Reply

