Zucchini Mini Muffins

While on my zucchini kick, I remembered that I had saved this recipe from Weight Watchers (click here) for zucchini mini muffins. I can recall the delicious zucchini bread that my mom made when I was younger. It was moist, delicious, and sweet. The sweetness is subtle and surprising – not like cake. But, I remember thinking that it certainly didn’t taste like, what I thought, zucchini bread would taste like.  I crossed my fingers, thinking that this would be a perfect snack for the kids also…tasty and healthy.

Undoubtedly, there are a lot of recipes for zucchini bread or muffins. This recipe uses whole-grain wheat flour, skim milk, egg whites and walnut (or almond) oil, to make it more healthy/less caloric (Weight Watchers 2 Points Plus Value per mini muffin).

Ingredients: 2 small uncooked zucchini, 1 cup all-purpose flour, ½ cup whole-grain wheat flour, ¼ cup granulated sugar, 2 tsp baking powder, ½ tsp ground ginger, ½ tsp table salt, 2 large egg whites, 2/3 cup low-fat milk, ¼ cup packed dark brown sugar, ¼ cup walnut (or almond) oil, 2 tsp vanilla extract

-Start by grating the zucchini (the original recipe recommends using the large holes, which I did. Next time, though, I will try the smaller holes.)

-Squeeze out as much excess water by placing the grated zucchini into a mesh strainer and press against with a spoon or roll up in a towel and squeeze.

-Preheat oven to 400F. Make sure rack is positioned in the center of the oven.

-Spray 2 mini muffin tins (to make 24 muffins total) with cooking spray.

-In a large bowl, mix together whole wheat and all-purpose flours, granulated sugar, baking powder, ground ginger, and salt.

-In a separate bowl, mix together zucchini, egg white, milk, brown sugar, oil, and vanilla extract until sugar is mostly dissolved.

-Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and stir until combined (do not overmix, but be sure that there are no dry bits remaining).

-Spoon batter into muffin tins (approximately 2 Tablespoons per muffin).

-Bake for 12-14 minutes, until browned and toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

-Allow to cool in the tin for a few minutes, remove and allow to continue cooling on a wire rack.

Zucchini Muffins

I have mixed experiences with Weight Watchers recipes, usually they lack a little flavor and I have to make some additions or alterations to the seasoning. This one was pretty good as is. As I mentioned in the directions, I would like to try grating the zucchini a little finer next time. The larger bits of zucchini were not bad, per se, but I think the finer shred might make for a better texture.

The ultimate test, of course, was approval by the children….and, in my family, two out of three approved. One child could not get enough of these muffins and one child would not try (said the zucchini bits looked like play doh (??)…whatever…I’ll convert him). The middle child was, appropriately, in the middle. I considered this recipe a family win – and I think you will too!

Leave a Reply

