Three Witches

Living in a city that, for better or worse, identifies itself with witches, I had to try a witch-themed beverage for the holiday season. Iterations of the Witch’s Brew were abound and most alluring. The first recipe I came upon was this brilliantly blue-hued concoction. I won’t deny that the presentation and photography sucked me right in. Truth is, aside from obtaining (or making) the black sugar, the drink is really simple.

Ingredients: 1 oz vodka, 1 oz triple sec, 1 oz Blue Curacao, juice of 1 lime, black sugar

Directions: Start by preparing the rim of your glass. This time I opted to moisten the rim by rubbing the lime along the edge. Then, of course, dip the rim into the black sugar trying to get even coverage throughout.

Next, pour the vodka, triple sec, Blue Curacao, and lime juice into a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake and strain into the prepared glass.

12042974_1085071284839182_3265623562579548649_n

There really isn’t anything remarkable about this drink. I’ve this mixture in one of a variety of ways, many times. It’s not bad, just not unique. It certainly is pretty and appeals to many people. So, if you want a safe, people-pleaser, this might be the way to go.

As I said, there are multiple versions of Witch’s Brew. So after my mildly disappointing first experiment, I had to go another round and see if there was something more “witchy” out there. This one had some more exotic ingredients, for which I had to improvise a bit.

Ingredients: 1 ½ oz coconut tequila (I substituted 1 oz coconut rum and 1 oz tequila), 2 oz pineapple orange juice (I used plain pineapple juice), ½ oz. Blue Curacao, maraschino cherry

Directions: Mix the coconut tequila (or rum & tequila), juice and Blue Curacao in an ice-filled shaker. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass. Add a maraschino cherry.

12190808_1085481321464845_6792287467377147644_n

Now this could be the something different I was looking for. In fairness, I don’t know what coconut tequila would taste like…but the mixture of coconut rum and tequila was pretty good. Same goes for the pineapple orange juice – I just picked some up, so I want to try this again with it. It doesn’t have the same spectacular hue as the first “Witch’s Brew” – but then I got to thinking that green might be more appropriate. I don’t think it will replace my absolute favorite cocktail – but it is certainly fun and festive.

Lastly, I found a Salem Witch cocktail…how could I NOT try this one? The ingredient list is a bit more extensive, but it is manageable.

Ingredients: ½ oz. vodka, ½ oz. raspberry schnapps, (I substituted 1 oz. raspberry vodka), ½ oz. melon liqueur (such as Midori), splash of lime juice, 2 oz. sweet and sour mix, 1 oz. club soda, splash of grenadine

Directions: Pour the vodka (or vodka and schnapps), melon liqueur, and lime juice in a Collins glass with ice. Add sour mix until the glass is 2/3 full (I used all 2 ounces). Stir. Top with soda water and stir gently again. Add a splash of grenadine.

12189137_1085481278131516_1871802697271955660_n

The description of this drink suggests that it is a green drink (Midori), with a hint of red (Grenadine). But, the color in their photo, as well as my experiment, came out red. It sure would be fun if it was more of a layered drink, but I’m not complaining. This drink is festive and different. I am not a big fan of melon-flavored drinks…the thought of one just doesn’t appeal to me. But, the addition of the Midori with the flavors of raspberry and citrus is really tasty. This drink doesn’t pack a huge amount of alcohol, which is probably good since it goes down pretty easily. Of all the witch cocktails, this would probably be my favorite.

2 thoughts on “Three Witches

  1. The top one sounds exactly like a recipe I found for Roman Ale (ala Star Trek- The Undiscovered Country) Also a meh drink. I expect more out of my aliens and fairy tale characters! The middle one sounds delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

