Pumpkin Pie Martini – Orange Spiced Version

This is the Orange Spiced Pumpkin Martini. You may be thinking, “whoop-de-do…so what, it’s got orange” – but the orange flavor is subtle, yet significant.  For this one you’ll need pumpkin spice vodka, which can be difficult to find. I also didn’t have all of the ingredients that the original recipe (click here) called for. While many of my friends assume that I must have one of everything in my liquor cabinet, I can reassure you that is not the case (though, now I have a 750 of pumpkin spice vodka, which I can’t imagine is too versatile…oh well, it’s all for the sake of “science”). In any rate, I think that my other substitutions were fair.

Ingredients: 2oz pumpkin pie vodka, ½ oz triple sec, 2 oz prosecco or champagne, dash of orange bitters, dash of pumpkin pie spice

Directions: Place vodka, triple sec, and orange bitters into a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass. Top with champagne (or prosecco). Add dash of pumpkin pie spice.

12235051_1094265387253105_426944268287223504_n

The substitutions I made in this recipe were the orange bitters (for orange rind), champagne (for prosecco), and pumpkin pie spice (for cinnamon). Frankly, the only thing I’d like to try differently would be using prosecco instead of champagne, as the champagne was a little dry for my liking.

But, most importantly, who knew that orange would pair nicely with pumpkin? I certainly didn’t – and I was quite surprised that it makes for a unique but good combination. When I first made this, I omitted the spice…because it just seemed ridiculous. But, once I added it and then had another sip, I felt that it really enhanced the overall flavor. I could have used cinnamon, but I prefer pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon as well as nutmeg, ginger, allspice, and cloves) – it works well in this drink.  You’ll taste a mixture of spicy, savory, and sweet that, I feel, would complement most foods well.  I recommend enjoying one before, during or after your meal.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

