Pumpkin Pie Martini Pt I

It seemed that almost immediately after Halloween, the seasonal flavor changed from pumpkin to peppermint. And, though I do love pumpkin flavored drinks and treats, I will agree that the use of pumpkin flavoring has become a bit excessive. Still, its presence signals the beginning of autumn, just as peppermint heralds winter and the winter holiday season. And while I look forward to those things (every year), I am not quite ready to say goodbye to pumpkin just yet. In preparation for Thanksgiving, I have some pumpkin flavored cocktails.  They may go by the same or similar names, but these cocktails have very little beyond pumpkin in common.

The first cocktail uses a pumpkin pie cream liqueur. After passing it in the store on a few separate occasions, I decided to just buy it without having any real plan for what to do with it. It would be simple enough to serve with coffee or just on the rocks, but I found this recipe (along with dozens of other versions of a “pumpkin pie martini”). The first time I made it as suggested. Then I made it again with a couple of additions. I will give you both the original and my version…feel free to experiment on your own.

Ingredients: 2 oz. Fulton’s Pumpkin Pie Cream Liqueur, 1 oz. Whipped vodka

Ingredients: 2 oz. Fulton’s Pumpkin Pie Cream Liqueur, 1 oz. Whipped vodka, 1 oz. Salted Caramel vodka, 2 oz. milk

Directions: Pour ingredients into an ice-filled shaker. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass.

12241458_1093837553962555_3994063333442276817_n

I would categorize this as a liquid dessert. It is sweet and tasty. The original is quite good, but the caramel vodka is a nice addition.  And, milk probably isn’t necessary, but I found it useful for diluting the alcohol content a little.  Now, onto the next one….

Leave a Reply

