Cranberry Gimlet

I just couldn’t wait to try this one (see original recipe here).  After all, I had more than one bottle of “good quality gin” in the cabinet just itching to be experimented with.  For those who prefer to celebrate with gin instead of vodka, I promise this won’t disappoint.

Ingredients: 2 oz. good quality gin, 2 oz. unsweetened cranberry juice, 1/2 oz. fresh lime juice, 1/2 oz. simple syrup, whole cranberries for garnish

Directions: Add gin, juices and simple syrup to an ice-filled cocktail shaker.  Shake and strain into a cocktail or coupe glass.  Garnish with fresh cranberries if desired.

12279030_1096593043687006_8345257699903566765_n

I found this recipe to be an excellent opportunity for experimenting with two new “good quality” gins.  Normally I have a one drink max, especially on a weekday night…but, for the sake of science, I opted to make two drinks.  The first is a local (in Salem, MA) gin, made by a newly opened distiller, Deacon Giles.  I acquired the second, Hepple Gin, while I was traveling in London last month.  Hepple is also new on the market and, sadly, not yet available for sale in the US (though, if you’d like, you can order it online here).  If you can’t get either of those, I would recommend Whyte Laydie, St. George’s Botanivore, The Botanist, Cold River, Greylock, or Hendrick’s.  There was no clear winner in my experiments tonight – they were both amazing.  I really like the mixture of cranberry and lime with gin.  The original recipe does mention that if you are a sweetened cranberry juice, or cranberry cocktail, to omit the simple syrup.  I found the proportions of juice and simple syrup to be about right (I went for 2 oz of cranberry juice instead of the suggested 1 oz), but feel free to tweak those if you want less sweet, more tart, or more gin to come through in your cocktail.

11231027_1096601190352858_5545924256539218333_n

 

One thought on “Cranberry Gimlet

Leave a Reply

