Disaronno Apple Cobbler

I keep trying pumpkin and cranberry cocktails, looking for the “perfect” one to serve with my Thanksgiving dinner. And, yet, I have no idea what taste I am really looking for. A couple of my pumpkin cocktails were duds – they were okay, but they need some tweaking. So, the quest continues with no real goal in mind.

In my pile of recipes to try, I found the very first one I printed out for this month, the Disaronno Apple Cobbler. It comes from Shape magazine as a feature from their “Festive and Fit Thanksgiving Cocktails” (click HERE for original recipe). I am not CRAZY for amaretto. I don’t dislike it, but I am not one of those who treasures a glass of it on the rocks. I just doesn’t do anything magical for me. So, with that in mind, I didn’t have any strong expectation about whether I’d like it.

Ingredients: 2 oz Disaronno, 1 oz no sugar added cranberry juice, 1 oz unfiltered/unpasteurized apple juice (I used apple cider), ¼ oz lemon juice, 2 dashes Peychauds bitters, slice of red apple for garnish if desired

12278795_1097563776923266_4978013676776300162_n

Directions: Add all ingredients (except for the garnish) to an ice-filled cocktail shaker. Shake and strain into an old fashioned glass. Add ice and/or garnish with apple if desired.

I was beyond pleasantly surprised with this drink. It is a little sweet and, possibly, a little tangy. The Disaronno adds some depth and a nutty finish. I expected the amaretto to be overpowering, but it was not at all. You’ll get the flavor of the almond, but it is well balanced with the fruit juices. Regarding the bitters, I bought Peychauds just for this experiment and I discovered that it has a different flavor than the Angostura bitters. What I like about this drink is that it is easy to make, uses common ingredients, and is completely delicious. Oh, and it is low in calories – Shape had it at 180, but with the apple cider in lieu of apple juice, it may be closer to 200. Of course, that won’t hold me back. Be sure to try one of these on Thanksgiving Day or, perhaps, the night before as you mentally/physically/emotionally prepare for Thanksgiving. Cheers!

One thought on “Disaronno Apple Cobbler

Leave a Reply

