Cherry Almond Cocktail

So far, this holiday season has been more about chaos than the Christmas spirit. I’m not happy about it, but it is what it is. But, I knew something was amiss when I caught myself wondering when it would feel like Christmas…and, yet, here we are, right in the midst of it. I won’t trail off and make this sappy or  sentimental but, suffice it to say, I need to pause and ENJOY this season (which I DO love) before I miss it!

And, here I have a perfect beverage to enjoy for one of those moments. It requires few ingredients and minimal prep. You can sip and enjoy aside lights on your tree, menorah, or non-religiously affiliated candle. (Click HERE for the original recipe.)

Ingredients: 1 oz Amaretto, 1 oz cherry brandy, 2 oz. (or more) half-and-half (I used fat-free half-and-half), maraschino cherries (with or without stem) for garnish, if desired

12341645_1104170712929239_9170706603668866217_n

Directions: Put amaretto and cherry brandy into an old-fashioned glass. Add ice. Top with half-and-half. Stir gently. Garnish with maraschino cherries (on a pick, if you want them visible).

This is very smooth, a little sweet. This drink vaguely reminds me of Queen Anne chocolate covered cordial cherries, minus the chocolate part (but, hey, there’s an idea…hmmm…) The amount of half-and-half can be adjusted to your liking. And, you could use milk or cream to make it less or more rich. Again, it is a perfect drink to sip on a winter’s evening as you unwind. Be sure to take a moment for yourself (and enjoy one of these)!

Leave a Reply

