White Cranberry Martini

In an effort to be resourceful, I decided to make TWO different cocktails that use rosemary simple syrup so that I could use some of the fresh rosemary that I bought for my Holiday Mule.

The first one I tried was the White Cranberry Martini. The original recipe (click HERE) describes it as a “Winter Wonderland Cocktail”…how could I pass on that?

Before we get started on the cocktail, you have to make the simple syrup. I doubled the recipe, which was completely unnecessary. I’m sure I’ll find some use for rosemary simple syrup…someday.  But I recommend making this smaller amount.

Ingredients: ½ cup sugar, ½ cup water, 1 Tablespoon crushed fresh rosemary

Directions: Crush the rosemary to release the oils. This is not as easy as it seems. The original post shows a photo of the person using a mortar and pestle – I don’t have one, maybe I need one? I used a small glass bowl and my muddler. It worked okay. I also broke them up with my fingers. My hands smelled like rosemary for the remainder of the day – not a bad thing but be advised that this is not a small, simple task.

Next, put the sugar and water into a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and allow to boil for 2-3 minutes, to assure that all of the sugar has dissolved. Add the rosemary, turn down the heat and simmer for a minute. Remove from heat and allow to sit for at least 30 minutes.

12360232_1107361852610125_3448983021379289007_n

Remove rosemary from syrup (I used a mesh strainer). Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Okay….now we can get on to the drink….

Ingredients: 2 oz vodka, 1 ½ oz white cranberry juice, ½ rosemary simple syrup, ½ oz fresh lime juice, cranberries for garnish.

Directions: Put vodka, cranberry juice, rosemary simple syrup and lime juice into an ice-filled cocktail shaker. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass. Garnish with fresh cranberries.

12346415_1107424455937198_7633940602790695626_n

I like that this drink is light and sweet, and tart. Honestly, the tartness masks some of the sweetness. The better the vodka, the less you will taste the alcohol. Of course, you will remember that this is an alcoholic drink when you get to the last third or so. It’s not a strong drink, but it’s a sneaky drink…I would say that, depending on the person, two or three could render someone inoperable.

The original recipe offers interesting advice for trying this with flavored vodka…I am intrigued to try it with vanilla, whipped, or cranberry vodka.  For additional flair, you could opt to rim the glass with sugar.

One thought on “White Cranberry Martini

Leave a Reply

