Rosemary Gin Fizz

Here’s part two of my Rosemary Simple Syrup experiments. I was so excited to have another drink with gin…and, the Deacon Giles Gin has become a fast favorite.  Sadly, I will soon need to get back to using the others in order to clear out space in my cabinet. (For my friends at Hepple Gin, I came to the sad realization that I cannot have liquor shipped directly to me in Massachusetts so I until I can work around that or manage to fly back to the UK, my precious bottle of Hepple gin is to be used for special occasions. And, NO, I don’t think I’ll be sharing!)

If you don’t recall from my last post, here’s the (abbreviated) recipe for the rosemary simple syrup.

Ingredients: ½ cup sugar, ½ cup water, 1 Tablespoon crushed fresh rosemary

Directions: Boil sugar and water in a small saucepan for 2-3 minutes until sugar is completely dissolved. Add fresh rosemary (needs to be crushed beforehand to release the oils) and simmer for 1 minute. Remove from heat and allow to sit for at least 30 minutes. Strain syrup through a mesh sieve to remove rosemary leaves and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

And the cocktail…

Ingredients: 2 oz gin, ½ oz rosemary simple syrup, ½ oz fresh lemon juice, ½ oz crème de cassis, 2-3 oz club soda, rosemary sprig for garnish

Directions: Mix together gin, rosemary simple syrup, and fresh lemon juice by either shaking or stirring in a shaker with ice. Strain into a double old fashioned glass. Pour in crème de cassis and stir. Add ice. Top with club soda and garnish with rosemary, if desired.

12342447_1107518579261119_7842791163468594355_n(1)

If I had to guess, this is similar to what the Holiday Mule would taste like if I used ginger ale instead of ginger beer. The original recipe mentions use of pomegranate liqueur, which gives the red color. I did not have it on hand, so I used crème de cassis, which is black currant liqueur. I’m not sure that the liqueur makes a huge difference in terms of flavor but the coloring is festive. Still, I think I would like to try the pomegranate liqueur at some point. Of course, you could always improvise and make some sort of mule/fizz variation – herein lies the fun in “experimenting” with cocktails.

I also like that this is a simple drink – in terms of ingredients and preparation. I would keep it on my go-to holiday cocktail list (especially as an alternate to the mule if I had run out of ginger beer). It’s refreshing and pretty light.

Now, I am realizing that there is less than a week until Christmas – it’s probably time for some of the creamy holiday cocktails that I promised…next time!

Leave a Reply

