Pomegranate-Rosemary Royale

I can’t think of any other holiday that calls for a celebratory beverage as much as New Year’s.  It’s just a day but this particular changing of the day represents so much more – the ending of one chapter and the hope and promise of what lies ahead in the next.  For some, the celebration of surviving a particularly challenging year deserves a good drink.  And, for others, it’s just another reason to celebrate.

There’s nothing wrong with serving basic champagne, prosecco, or other sparkling wine at your celebration.  Toss in a raspberry or other garnish and it suddenly becomes even more fancy.  I have also enjoyed sipping on a glass of non-alcoholic sparkling cider, even when my age or pregnancy status didn’t suggest it.  (Of course, there have also been years that I fell asleep way before midnight, only to wake at normal time the following morning. Oh well.)  So, what I’m getting at is, even though I offer this suggestion to serve at your New Year’s celebrations, there is no shame in going basic.  Serve what you like and/or what you think your guests will like.

Now onto this drink….the pictures always pull me in.  The photo of this one was alluring and mysterious, with all its dark, rich hues.  (If you want to see what I’m talking about, go take a look here…she’s a food photographer, so…yeah.  She links out to the original recipe at Cooking Light here.)

You can imagine my surprise when I realized that this recipe uses Rosemary Simple Syrup.  I did not choose it because of this fact – I actually read over the instructions twice to make sure it wasn’t just making this up.  But, for real, it’s the same syrup I have now used in three different drinks (I also used it in a Holiday Mule). If you haven’t some, thinking it might not be all that useful, you may want to reconsider.  (Go here for my post with the instructions.)  Also, make sure your juice and bubbly are properly chilled.

Ingredients: ½ oz. Rosemary Simple Syrup, 1 ½ oz. Pomegranate juice, 4 oz. Champagne or Prosecco

Directions: Put simple syrup and juice into a glass (coupe or champagne flute).  Stir gently if desired.  Top with bubbly of choice.

10301_1116212958391681_3370214856554769941_n

This is really nice – it has a lovely, but delicate, flavor without being complicated or pretentious.  I think it’s a good choice for New Year’s Eve – the flavor will likely appeal to most palates (my husband liked it) and it is pretty simple to prepare.  But, no matter how you prepare to toast to the passing and new year, I hope it’s a good one!  Cheers!

*Thoughts on Substitutions:  For an non-alcoholic version, use sparkling apple cider instead of bubbly.  Don’t have time to make the Rosemary Simple Syrup (or don’t like it), use plain simple syrup.

Leave a Reply

