The Rumba

I have intended to do a month of rum-based drinks for quite some time. I’m not sure what kept me from doing it, but I figured it was time. I’ve started gathering a nice collection of recipes for the month. And, after having mostly gin and vodka drinks during December, I look forward to experimenting with rum.

In an effort to make a smooth transition from my holiday cocktails to the new “theme”, I decided to start with a Rumba. I’ll be honest, the fact that I had a lot of the ingredients in my fridge already from the holidays was a huge factor in this decision. Either way, it looked pretty good. The recipe I used was here, but even that was slightly adapted from the original recipe found here.

Ingredients: 1 ½ oz. rum, 1 oz. apple cider, 1 oz. cranberry juice, ½ oz. lime juice, ¾ oz. simple syrup, 2 hearty dashes of orange bitters

Directions. Put ingredients into a cocktail filled shaker. Shake and strain into an old-fashioned glass. Add ice and garnish with cranberries, if desired.

1934204_1119145364765107_9197469238437174062_n

I made a few modifications to the original recipe. If you prefer a stronger cocktail, use more rum (the original calls for 1 ¾ oz.).  The recipe I used did not specify type of rum to use – I used light rum, but dark rum might be fun to try at some point.  The most pleasing part was the addition of the orange bitters – for me, it really seemed to complete this drink. The flavor of the Rumba was a bit unexpected, but not in a bad way. I always think of tropical drinks, with pineapple juice and coconut, when I think of rum. Well, this is certainly not the typical tropical rum drink at all. It is still smooth and sweet – perfect for enjoying on an early January evening during the last weekend of school vacation (and the return of the life’s routines, for better and worse). Cheers!

Leave a Reply

