Skinny Pina Colada & Skinny Hurricane

My hunt for cocktail recipes with rum brought me across both a Skinny Pina Colada and a Skinny Hurricane. I know many have recently resolved to eat healthier, so what a good option to try!

SKINNY PINA COLADA

For the Pina Colada, I made few adjustments to the original found here.

Ingredients: 2 oz. rum, 5 oz. coconut water, 2 oz. pineapple juice, pineapple slice and/or maraschino cherry for garnish

Directions: Put all ingredients into a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake and strain into a glass with ice. Garnish with pineapple slice and cherry if desired.

10648434_1123611927651784_6094365254330488214_o

In full disclosure, the Pina Colada was my first favorite drink of my youth. Before I could drink them with alcohol, I would order virgin Pina Coladas for special occasions. I didn’t assume that this skinny version could recapture the warm, fuzzies from the past. But, I was really amazed with how fabulous it was. It is not as thick or sugary as the non-skinny version, but it is certainly sweet. The flavor of this skinny version is more pure and light. I didn’t get a strong taste of the rum – in the future I might make this with an extra ½ – 1 oz of coconut rum. I also tried this with pineapple coconut water – it was good but not necessarily better than the plain. I did like that it was not too heavy on the alcohol. It would be a great drink to enjoy, responsibly, on a hot summer day. A coconut water is really good for you – BONUS!

SKINNY HURRICANE

Yet another recipe (click here) that drew me in by the photography….not as amazing at *that* one, but it made my mouth water. Either way, it seemed to fit the theme of skinny cocktails and, most importantly, the timing felt appropriate with Mardi Gras on the horizon.

Ingredients: 2 oz. cranberry juice, 2 oz. orange juice, 1 ½ oz rum

Directions: Put the ingredients into a glass with ice and stir. Garnish with a slice of orange and/or maraschino cherry.

12466122_1123611447651832_3563651488373346750_o

It’s been a while since I enjoyed a Hurricane at Pat O’Brien’s…but this cocktail didn’t seem like anything I recall from that experience. I understand the effort at making this less caloric than the real thing, but it still could use some tweaking. You can try it, but I think you may be disappointed. I am hoping to try this again soon, so stay tuned!

EDIT: So, I looked up some authentic Hurricane recipes.  I tried to make some modifications to them to make them less caloric (by eliminating the dark rum) but accentuating the flavor (addition of passion fruit juice, grenadine and lime juice).  Same directions as the first recipe…see how you like it.

Ingredients:2 oz. rum, 1 ½ oz. passion fruit juice, 1 ½ oz. orange juice, ½ oz. grenadine, ½ oz. lime juice

Leave a Reply

