Coconut-Curry Pumpkin Bisque

Since I started combing through recipes I have set aside to try, this one just sounded amazing. It was one of the recipes in the Weight Watcher’s weekly*.  (Click here for the original recipe.)  I love coconut and curry. I know it’s a little beyond official pumpkin season, but I really didn’t care. I wanted something warm for lunch over the weekend. I got all of the ingredients (the list might seem a little intimidating, but it really isn’t too crazy) and was on a mission.

Ingredients: 1 tsp coconut oil, 1 large shallot (minced), 1 ½ tsp kosher salt, 2 tsp minced ginger, 1 tsp curry powder, ½ tsp dried coriander leaf, ½ tsp ground cumin, ¼ tsp ground cinnamon, 1 pinch cayenne pepper, 30 oz. canned pumpkin puree, 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth, 1 cup light unsweetened coconut milk, 2 Tbsp dark brown sugar, 1 Tbsp fresh lime juice, 2 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro

Directions: In large soup pot, saute shallot (with salt) in coconut oil. Once softened (approximately 5 minutes), add in ginger, curry powder, coriander, cumin, cinnamon, and cayenne. Cook for 1 minute. Add pumpkin puree, chicken broth, coconut milk, and dark brown sugar to the pot and mix well. Allow to simmer for 10 minutes. Use an immersion blender (or transfer mixture to a blender with a heat-safe carafe) and puree. Stir in lime juice, garnish with cilantro if desired.

12573182_1131384536874523_8024653560725969803_n

This was A-Maze-Ing! It had all of the deep flavors you would expect…the sweetness of the coconut and the spice of the curry and cumin. You could easily alter the recipe to make it a little spicier (my husband recommends sriracha sauce). I found one bowl quite filling alongside a half of a sandwich. Leftovers were just as wonderful, if not better. Not only is it delicious, but it was quick to make.  It involves a little bit of prep measuring spices and cutting the shallot and ginger.  But once that is done, it comes together very quickly.  The smells emanating from the kitchen even brought the kids and husband from their weekend projects. One note about the final puree – I transferred the soup from the pot to my blender, as I do not have an immersion blender (and really don’t need or want another kitchen gadget). I have a feeling this soup will become a regular part of our meal plan. Enjoy!

*The Weight Watcher Weekly are handed out at Weight Watcher Meetings.  Usually these recipes can be found on their website, with a little digging.  I have to admit that, aside from seeing my AWESOME leader, Tara, the recipes are one of the main reasons why I go back.  This week’s Weekly had some amazing looking baked fries.

Leave a Reply

