Pomegranate Lemonade

I was really pulled in by the pomegranate in this one since I enjoyed those other pomegranate cocktails before Christmas. But, the combination of flavors intrigued me as well. “Lemonade” seems more appropriate for the summer…but now that the winter temps have finally taken hold, it never hurts to think ahead, right?  (See original recipe here.)

Ingredients: 1 ½ oz. Bacardi Limon, ¾ oz. lemon juice, ¾ oz. simple syrup, 1 oz. pomegranate juice, club soda

Directions: Put Bacardi Limon, lemon juice, simple syrup, and pomegranate juice into a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake and put into a glass with ice. Top with club soda.

Pomegranate Lemonade

This was quite pleasant. Though I tasted only a hint of the pomegranate, which might tone down some of the tartness of the lemon, the lemon really steals the show. That’s okay with me, it makes for a refreshing beverage. This was the first time I had citrus-flavored rum – it was nice, definitely a far cry from the regular or coconut rum that I am used to. Citrus vodka would probably also work well in this drink, but since it is “rum month” on the blog, I went with it. Feel free to add more pomegranate juice to your taste.  I will dilute the “kick” from the rum (which, as is, isn’t really strong in this cocktail) but you will get more of the pomegranate flavor.  I will definitely make this again in the spring and summer along with my skinny pina colada.

Leave a Reply

