Love Byte

Rum month is over, but February is here. The recipe BEGGED to be saved for the appropriate time.  Though, I admit, this combination of liquors is a little, um, different.  But, for the sake of experimentation, and in the spirit of LOVE, I have to give it a try.  The original recipe is HERE.  I did take the liberty of modifying the byte a little bit – see below.

Ingredients: 1 oz. rum, ½ oz. triple sec, ½ oz. amaretto, 1 oz. coconut rum, 3 oz. pineapple juice, 1 oz. grenadine, 2-3 dashes cherry bitters

Directions: Put ingredients into a shaker with ice. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass.

LoveByte2

So, this has a lot of alcohol in it. Duh! But, I do forget this sometimes when I make cocktails.  As far as the flavors, there’s a lot going on there with almond, orange, coconut, pineapple, and cherry all in one drink.  I truly had my doubts with the mixture, but they create a nice melange.  Now, the original recipe does NOT call for the cherry bitters.  I added that at my husband’s urging and he earns props for that because it really makes for a nice finish.  Without the bitters, the drink has a strong, sweet bite (thus the name, perhaps?) – but it was a bit too much for me.  But, the bitters tones that down a bit.  It still is a “sip with caution” drink.  Among the things I reflect upon when evaluating a drink, I consider whether I would order a second.  The answer here is, sadly,  no.  That is not necessarily a bad thing, but one was quite enough.

Leave a Reply

