Palmetto Punch

While growing up in the Midwest, my family became good friends with a family from South Carolina. I learned a little bit about South Carolina while my friend and I were partnered up on a project about The Palmetto State. Some time later, my family took a trip down south, including a stop in Charleston. I don’t remember much about Charleston, except for the historic market and the beautiful  homes with their HUGE porches.  There was a general warmth there, and I’m not referring to the temperature even though it was summertime. I won’t write on about Southern hospitality, but South Carolina certainly exudes it.  It is hard to find words to explain that relaxed and welcomed feeling, but it has stayed with me all these years.  When I read the ingredients, I thought that it might be possible to capture those feelings and experiences in liquid form.

As far as the recipe, I found quite a few variations and I wasn’t able to find any “official” one.  Most included the same ingredients, so I did the most prudent and scientific thing by averaging the quantities for, hopefully, the perfect Palmetto Punch.

Ingredients: 2 oz. spiced rum, 1 oz. coconut rum, 1 oz. pineapple juice, 4 oz. orange juice, ½ oz. grenadine

Directions: Place ingredients into a cocktail shaker with ice. Shake and strain into a glass with ice. Garnish with slice of orange, if desired.

PalmettoPunch

I know…the same, coconut rum, orange juice, pineapple juice combo. But I did like this drink – it has a slightly different flavor to it. The spiced rum adds some warmth and punch, no pun intended. You will taste a lot of the orange juice and a little of the coconut and pineapple. But, it is nice and very easy to drink. And, yes, it would be perfect to sip one of these on a day that’s too hot to do anything else but fan yourself and lift a glass.  In true Southern hospitable fashion, you would be invited to enjoy more than one…and refusing to do so would be impolite.  I’d quickly take another….and another.  Three ounces of alcohol is not insignificant, but there is a lot of juice in this drink, so you won’t taste it outright.  Be aware of your alcohol tolerance and modify the liquor content if necessary because, as I said, they are very easy to drink.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

