Vermont 75

It is maple sugaring season.  If you who live in a part of the country where sap is collected from sugar maple trees to be made into precious, delicious maple syrup, you know what I am talking about.  Last year I spent the month of March making green drinks.  That was good and fun, and I do have some festive drinks planned for later this week in honor of St. Patrick’s Day.  However, this year, I want to focus on maple syrup.

The good news is that there is no shortage of cocktail recipes using maple syrup, at all.  At first I was going to limit my experiments to one weekend…but realized all too quickly that it could not be done.  I am going a little out of order from what I posted on the Facebook page – but some of my other experiments will require a little adjusting before I write about them.

I was quite eager to try this drink, the Vermont 75.  Over the summer, I had a good experience with the French 75 – this is a variation of that.  The original recipe for the Vermont 75 can be found here.  I decided to modify it ever so slightly.

Ingredients: ½ oz. maple syrup, ½ oz. lemon juice, 1 oz. gin, 3 oz. hard apple cider

Directions: Put maple syrup, lemon juice, and gin into a cocktail shaker with ice.  Shake and strain into your cocktail glass of choice (I used a martini glass).  Top with hard apple cider.

Vermont75

For comparison’s sake, I will tell you that the French 75 is a mixture of lemon juice, simple syrup, gin, and champagne.  The original recipe for the Vermont 75 cocktail uses honey syrup, which I decided to swap out for maple syrup.

This is a neat drink.  There is a subtle sweetness from the cider and syrup that is nicely balanced by the gin and lemon juice.  With only a half of an ounce of syrup, you won’t get much maple flavor.  But, I would argue that real maple syrup doesn’t have that heavy maple flavor that the mass produced syrups have.  For some of you, that may be a surprise and/or disappointment.

I found the alcohol content pretty light, so I eagerly enjoyed more than one of these drinks.  Do be aware that the alcohol content of cider varies between brands and varieties…so yours may pack more of a punch.  Hopefully the modest ingredient list will motivate you to try this one right away – cheers!

One thought on “Vermont 75

Leave a Reply

