Creamy Mapletini

I’ve tried a good share of milk-based cocktails, but maple syrup and cream seemed like a good combination to me.  You’ll find the original recipe HERE.

Ingredients: 1 ½ oz. maple syrup, 2 oz. half-and-half, 1 oz. vodka, maple sugar (or sugar mixed with cinnamon – Demerara or Turbinado sugar work well for this) for rimming

Directions: Prepare the rim of the cocktail glass by using maple syrup and maple sugar (or sugar/cinnamon mixture).  Put liquid ingredients into a cocktail shaker with ice.  Shake and strain into prepared cocktail glass.

DSC_0456

I wish I had the maple syrup sugar to use with this.  I did not and used Demerara sugar with a couple dashes of cinnamon.  I feel like prepping the rim is necessary for this drink, as the mixture really compliments the flavor – think of it almost as a garnish.  As a side note, I used fat-free half-and-half – cuts down on the calories and doesn’t taste any different to me.  You could also use cream or milk – I think that half-and-half provides good consistency to the drink.

This is not the typical creamy, “dessert” cocktail.  It is sweet and creamy, but not like most of the other milk-based cocktails that I’ve tried.  The maple adds some sweetness, but, even at 1 ½ ounces, the other ingredients really cut the sweetness down.  And, again, the maple flavor is subtle.  If you are looking to have some fun with this and increase the sweetness factor, you may want to try a flavored vodka, such as vanilla, whipped, or caramel. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

