Strawberry Basil Limonata

I couldn’t wait to use the vodka I infused with strawberries and basil.  The first recipe I wanted to try was a Strawberry Basil Lemonade…heck, the source for my infused vodka recipe even recommended it.  I also knew that I had lemon flavored San Pellegrino soda that I thought would be fun to try.  I did a little hunting for recipes and settled on this one from Pearl Vodka as my inspiration.  The flavors are slightly different (I use lemon versus their lime), but I thought the proportions would be a good start.

13221295_1207233745956268_7710118056200988676_o

Strawberry Basil Limonata

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Inspiration: Pearl Vodka

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ ounces Strawberry Basil Vodka
  • 3 ounces San Pellegrino Limonata, chilled
  • Strawberry and/or slice of lemon for garnish

Directions

  1. Pour vodka and Limonata into an old fashioned glass
  2. Stir gently.
  3. Add ice and garnish with lemon and/or strawberry if desired

13173294_1207233099289666_5789196196385253076_o

I didn’t get any distinct smell or flavor of basil from the infusion directly out of the jar.  However, once I added the limonata, the basil perked right up – wow!  The balance was quite spectacular.  The limonata is sweet and bubbly, but there is a subtle saltiness, like a seltzer, that tones down the sweetness and makes it more “adult”.  If my quantities of strawberry basil vodka weren’t limited, I might not have been able to stop after one.  It took serious restraint, and the promise of another strawberry basil beverage, to keep from pouring another.  It pairs well with a variety of foods – I particularly enjoyed mine with pizza and sub sandwiches.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

