Pink Flamingo Martini

An opportunity presented itself to experiment with pink grapefruit juice.  It was really a sort of favor/request for a friend…and when duty calls, I try to oblige.  I am not a huge fan of grapefruit, yet the thought of putting it into a cocktail was exciting.

In my searching, the pink flamingo turned out to be a popular theme.  I started to wonder if there is some sort of connection between this animal and fruit.  Rather than think on it too much, I got to pouring and shaking.  This first one is the Pink Flamingo Martini.  You will find the original recipe HERE.

Pink Flamingo Martini

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit: Marla Meridith

Ingredients

  • 2 oz. pink grapefruit juice
  • 2 oz. light rum
  • ½ oz. St. Germain (elderflower liqueur)
  • Stevia drops (or other sweetener to taste)
  • 2 dashes grapefruit bitters

Directions

  1. Put all ingredients into a cocktail mixer with ice
  2. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass

PinkFlamingoMartini

The bitterness of the grapefruit comes through on this one.  You will taste a hint of the elderflower liqueur but it does not take anything away from the grapefruit.  I suspect that will be good news the grapefruit lovers.  I didn’t taste much of the rum in this and, come to think of it, it might be interesting to swap out the rum for gin or vodka, if you are in the mood for experimenting with something different.  I made the personal decision to add grapefruit bitters because, well, I had it and figured it was worth trying.  I would say it’s optional, especially since the original did not suggest it, but I think it adds a little complexity to the drink and balances out some of the bitterness from the juice.  If you are looking to expand your bitters collection, grapefruit bitters is a good selection as it is more versatile than you might expect (orange is good too).  In any rate, I liked this drink…it won’t satisfy my sweeter palate, at least not on a regular basis, but it was good.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

