Cucumber Fizz

I am doing my part to be better organized with recipes I want to try throughout the summer.  This one stuck out and I really wanted to make it as soon as possible.  You’ll find the original recipe HERE.

Cucumber Fizz

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Credit: Liquor.com

Ingredients

  • 2 oz cucumber, peeled and chopped
  • 1 ½ oz pear vodka
  • ½ oz Elderflower liqueur (such as St. Germain)
  • ½ oz lemon juice
  • ½ oz simple syrup
  • ~2 oz lemonade or club soda (I used San Pellegrino Limonata)
  • Thinly sliced cucumber, lemon zest, and/or mint leaves for garnish

Directions

  1. Place the chopped cucumber into a cocktail shaker and muddle.
  2. Add vodka, elderflower liqueur, lemon juice, and simple syrup.
  3. Add ice.
  4. Shake and strain into a double old fashioned with fresh ice.
  5. Garnish with cucumber slices and lemon or mint, if desired.

13346221_1221196674559975_5737249220881224309_o

Just when you thought elderflower liqueur couldn’t be more versatile…this one really surprised me.  I could not imagine how the cucumber, lemon, pear, and elderflower were going to come together…but they did and it did not disappoint, at all!

First of all, it is not easy to muddle cucumber.  Give it your best effort…and when you think you’ve done enough, give it a little more.  Unlike muddling berries, the cucumber will not turn into a mushy mesh.  I found it quite difficult to keep the cucumber from moving around – I wasn’t sure how much cucumber flavor I was going to get.

Again, I found a use for my San Pellegrino Limonata.  I really like these sodas, they are dry and sweet but not too sweet.  I could have used lemonade with similar taste effect, but I really like the effervescence from the carbonated soda.  If you want to tone down the sweetness, try a lemon-flavored seltzer…or if you want to tone down the lemon, add plain club soda.

This drink was amazing.  It was cool and refreshing.  With all the flavors here, nothing really overpowers it.  There is a subtle sweetness with a hint of cucumber.  Each sip leaves you with an aftertaste of elderflower and pear.  And the lemon really brings everything together.  I think this would be a hit on a warm summer evening.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

