Blackberry Moscow Mule

The problem with searching for recipes is that I, unavoidably, find more recipes to try that I wasn’t even looking for to begin with.  Pinterest really seems to exacerbate this phenomenon.  I had never intended to try a zillion sorts of Moscow Mules…but now it seems that I have many different types to try.  The recipe comes from another food blogger Cake ‘n Knife (click HERE for original recipe).  I couldn’t remember how old the blackberries were in the fridge, so I decided to put them to good use before they were destined for the compost bin.

Blackberry Moscow Mule

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit: cakenknife.com

Ingredients

  • 5 blackberries
  • 1 lime wheel
  • 1 ½ oz vodka
  • 3-4 oz ginger beer
  • ½ – 1 oz blackberry syrup (or Chambord)

Directions

  1. Muddle together the blackberries and lime in the bottom of a Moscow Mule mug (or other flat-bottomed glass, such as double old fashioned).
  2. Add vodka and blackberry syrup or Chambord.
  3. Add ice to fill two-thirds.
  4. Top with ginger beer and stir again gently.

Blackberry Moscow Mule

The original recipe does not call for the blackberry syrup or Chambord.  I added that to step up the blackberry flavor in this one.  Alternately, you may find a blackberry flavored vodka and that could be fun to try (note to self: make blackberry infused vodka for this next time).  I just did not trust that the blackberries, alone, would add enough flavor.  And, I do like blackberries, if you recall from my experiments last year.  I really enjoyed this version of the Moscow Mule.  Purists may disagree, but, if you find yourself with some fresh blackberries, why not treat yourself to one of these.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

