Breaded Chicken Cutlets

I am always on the lookout for good summer recipes.  I’ve made this three times already, each time successfully – so it is beyond time to share.  The original recipes comes from, probably, my favorite food writer, Skinnytaste.  I made a couple of modifications to the original recipe, which you can find HERE.

Breaded Chicken Cutlets

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy-medium
  • Print

Credit: Skinnytaste

Ingredients

  • 16 oz chicken cutlets
  • Adobo seasoning
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1-2 tsp Sazon seasoning
  • ½ cup seasoned breadcrumbs

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 450. Spray a pan lightly with baking spray.
  2. Prepare cutlets by lightly seasoning with adobo. Set aside.
  3. In a shallow bowl, mix breadcrumbs with ½ teaspoon of Sazon.
  4. In a second bowl, beat egg whites and a ½ teaspoon of Sazon.
  5. Dip cutlets into bowl with egg whites, then bread crumb mixture. Make sure each cutlet is well coated and shake off excess.
  6. Place into baking pan and spray cutlets lightly with baking spray.
  7. Bake in oven for 20 minutes, turn over and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

13925514_1261383360541306_9156702849790037922_o

I did not include the recipe for the deconstructed guacamole, which you can find in the original recipe.  It is good.  I also like the mango (Caribbean) salsa recipe with this, all taken from Skinnytaste, that I wrote about HERE.

The first modification I made was to add Sazon to both the egg wash and breadcrumbs.  The first time I made it, I accidentally added it only to the breadcrumbs.  I had to do a double-take with the instructions because it seemed odd to add seasoning to the egg wash.  In any rate, it was a fortunate mistake as I think it makes the chicken more flavorful.

The second modification I made is pretty significant and that was to bake the cutlets instead of pan frying them in olive oil.  Don’t get me wrong, I think that this would taste amazing if you pan fried it.  However, more than the health benefits of baking, frying food in oil has always been a messy and dangerous endeavor (more in that it burns my skin when it pops).  So, instead, I opted to bake the cutlets in the same way that I bake the Chicken Parmesan, which is also a Skinnytaste recipe.

I really liked the flavor – in fact, these are just as good to reheat as leftover (if you have much left over, that is).  I did not find them spicy, even my super taster ate them without complaint.  Certainly, there are ways to increase the spice if you want to do that.  Not only are these good as is – you could slice them up to use in a wrap sandwich, chopped up in a quesadilla, or, really, whatever you’d like.  Enjoy!

Oh, and by the way, this tastes really good with a Caribeno or Sneaky Tequila…just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

