Autumn Apple

I took a break from cocktail experiments to train for a half marathon…it was good, but it feels good to be back.  The end of my “hiatus” couldn’t have come at a better time – I am excited for some autumnal cocktails.  Fresh apple cider is a great mixer and is, conveniently, readily available this time of year.  I’ve had apple cider mixed with whiskey, rum, and vodka, but this one uses gin.  Now, of course, there are a couple versions of the Autumn Apple, but I started with this one HERE.

Autumn Apple

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit: Liquor.com

Ingredients

  • 2 oz gin
  • 2 oz apple cider
  • ½ oz fresh lemon juice
  • ½ oz simple syrup
  • 1 dash Peychaud’s bitters
  • Ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Put gin, cider, lemon juice, simple syrup, and dash of bitters into a cocktail shaker with ice.
  2. Shake and strain into an old-fashioned glass with ice (or into a cocktail glass without ice).
  3. Sprinkle a small amount of cinnamon on top.

autumnapple2016

I love the natural sweetness of apple cider – it makes this drink even more refreshing.  And, I was delightfully reminded of how much I love gin –  its’ flavor is really accentuated in this one, so it’s worth splurging on your favorite brand.

I debated on which bitters to use in this cocktail – Peychaud’s, Angostura, or one of the flavored bitters in the cabinet. After a quick sniff, I decided to go with the warmer, more earthy, Peychaud’s and, I must say, it brought the flavors together.  I also took a tip from one of the other “Autumn Apple” recipes that uses an absinthe rinse as Peychaud’s has a hint of anise/black licorice in it. But, that is my choice…feel free to try Angostura, plain or some of the flavored bitters.  (I recently saw cranberry and black walnut, which might make for an interesting addition.)

The original recipe uses honey simple syrup which I do think would work really well.  I was, frankly, too lazy to whip some up for this recipe.  But, if you have time to plan ahead a little bit, it is relatively simple to make using a 1:1 ratio of honey and water.  Simmer the mixture in a saucepan until it reduces and starts to thicken.

The cinnamon really does add the perfect finishing touch.  You may want to stir the cocktail gently before drinking to minimize the “bite” of the spice, but that is your choice.  While many favor hot beverages this time of year, the autumnal flavors are certain to warm you up!  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

