King’s Jubilee

Sometimes I lack the motivation/creativity to come up with a new drink.  Lately, as you can probably tell, it has been easier to grab a glass of my favorite, locally created cider than it is to figure out what I’m in the mood for and experiment.  Even when I’m not so, um, LAZY, I just don’t have time to plan something out.  This is when I turn to the Difford’s Guide.  They have lovely web site and, every day, they offer a drink recipe that inspired by that day’s occasion, which includes holidays and moments in history.  For those days when the drink doesn’t appeal to me, they conveniently post links to recipes for drinks from the recent days passed and days upcoming.  The only true unfortunate thing is that it doesn’t always occur to me to go to their web site for inspiration.

It is interesting to note that the time at which I discovered this recipe couldn’t have been more perfect – as I was immersed in watching The Crown and Victoria.

King's Jubilee

  • Servings: 1
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Credit: Difford’s Guide

Ingredients

  • 2 oz rum
  • 1 oz maraschino liqueur (such as Luxardo)
  • 1/2 oz fresh lemon juice

Directions

  1. Place ingredients into a shaker with ice.
  2. Shake and strain into a cocktail glass or coupe.

kingsjubilee

For whatever reason, I didn’t have an occasion to use Luxardo until recently.  Since then, I’ve been drawn to the recipes that have it…and, not only am I reminded of how much I like it, I am liking it more and more.  I believe that I have written about the flavor and merits of Luxardo, so I will skip the opportunity to repeat it.  If you need further information, I suggest a visit to their web site (click HERE).  I highly recommend adding this liqueur to your collection.

I like that this is very simple to make – juicing the lime is really as complicated as it gets.  Yet, the Luxardo adds depth and complexity that, in combination with the rum, comes as a surprise.  When I think of drinks with rum, I think tropical, fruity and REALLY sweet.  This drink is sophisticated and avoids all the drama (with a complicated prep or extensive list of ingredients).  There is some sweetness from the Luxardo, but it is very tame.  I found that the flavor of the rum comes through – it doesn’t overpower the drink, but, if you are a rum enthusiast, it could be quite fun to experiment with different types.

I don’t know if I was won over by the wonderful flavor, the simplicity of making it, or both…either way, it suits me and my busy lifestyle.  I suspect that I’ll be making it again soon.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

